Reporters Without Borders


Nguyen Phu Trong
Communist Party general secretary

Nguyen Phu Trong, appointed general secretary of the country’s only legal political party on 19 January 2011, has lost no time in silencing critical voices. During the months that followed his taking office, the former president of the national assembly (2006-2011) has cracked down hard on cyber dissidents.

The conservative-dominated party that he heads has maintained unrelenting pressure on pro-democracy activists, for fear that the kind of opposition movements ignited in the Middle East could spread to Vietnam.

In April 2011, Cu Huy Ha Vu was sentenced to seven years in prison and three years under house arrest for “anti-state propaganda.” Vi Duc Hoi, another pro-democracy activist convicted of the same charge, had his sentence of eight years’ imprisonment and three years’ house arrest reduced to five years in prison and three years under house arrest.

Since Trong’s appointment, seven netizens have been imprisoned, in all cases for calling for a multi-party system or democracy. The ruling party uses the legal system against dissidence on the Web. A draft decree under consideration, scheduled for possible enactment in June this year, would enlist Internet companies in an effort to strengthen censorship on the Web.

Traditional media have not been spared. Radio journalists Vu Duc Trung and his brother-in-law, Le Van Tranh, were sentenced in November 2011 to three and two years in prison respectively for “illegal broadcasting.” On 2 January 2012, Hoang Khuong (real name: Nguyen Van Khuong), a journalist for the daily Tuoi Tre, was arrested on a charge of having bribed a police officer, in the course of reporting on police corruption.

Trong’s censorship and arrest powers override the authority of the prime minister and of the president, and are carried out in defiance of the international community’s recommendations.

Alexander Lukashenko - Belarus Ayatollah Ali Khamenei - Iran Baloch armed groups - Pakistan Bashar Al-Assad - Syria Camorra (Naples), 'Ndrangheta (Calabria), Sacra Corona Unita (Puglia), Cosa Nostra (Sicily) - Italy China – Xi Jinping - China Choummaly Sayasone - Laos Gurbanguly Berdymukhammedov - Turkmenistan Ilham Aliyev - Azerbaijan Islam Karimov – President, Uzbekistan - Uzbekistan Israel Defence Forces - Uzbekistan Issaias Afeworki - Eritrea Jabhat Al-Nosra - Syria Kim Jong-un - North Korea King Hamad Ben Aissa Al Khalifa - Bahrain Leaders and members of extremist religious groups - Maldives Mexico : Miguel Trevino Morales, alias Z-40, and the Zetas drug cartel - Mexico Miguel Facussé Barjum - Honduras Mullah Mohammad Omar - Pakistan Nguyen Phu Trong - Vietnam Nursultan Nazarbayev - Kazakhstan Paul Kagame - Rwanda Philippines: private militias - Philippines Ramzan Kadyrov - Russia Raúl Castro - Cuba Somalia - Al-Shabaab, Islamist militia - Cuba Swaziland - Mswati III, King - Swaziland Teodoro Obiang Nguema - Equatorial Guinea The intelligence services - Pakistan The Islamist group Boko Haram - Nigeria The Rajapakse brothers - Sri Lanka Vasif Yusif Oghlu Talibov - Azerbaijan Vladimir Putin - Russia Yahya Jammeh - Gambia Zimbabwe - Robert Mugabe, president - Zimbabwe “Otoniel” and Los Urabeños – paramilitaries - Colombia
Contact us | Who we are ? | Our U.S chapter | CGU